Minutes of the 47th AGM of Berwick Bridge Club held on Thursday 17 May 2018 in the Parish Church Meeting Room

Present: Garneth Ellis (President) plus 37 members.

Apologies: Christine and Ian McCreath, Reg and Diana Drysdale, Ian Grieve, Mike and Christine Rowell, Catherine McConnachie, Perry Vassie, Christopher Smith, Brian Griffiths, Jenny and Peter Fisher, Margaret Patterson, Margaret McMurchie, Helen Hardwick, Nigel Marlow.

1. Minutes of the 2017 AGM

The minutes of the last AGM were accepted, save that the year in the title should be 2017 rather than 20178.

2. President's Report (on file)

Garneth congratulated club members who had distinguished themselves over the past twelve months, both within the club and elsewhere.

3. Hon Treasurer's Report (on file)

The accounts show a small profit of £190. Jane proposed that table money remains unchanged at £2 and the annual membership remains at £1. However the SBU subscription will rise by one pound to £9, so the annual renewal will be £10, due in September. Jane reiterated that online renewals are easier to handle.

The congress account for 2017 showed a profit of £424.06, a donation of £450 was made to the Great North Air Ambulance. This year's congress account is not finalised but should show a similar profit.

The club financial year has historically been 15 April, however the committee has decided that this should no longer have a fixed date, but should occur shortly after the congress has taken place. This will allow the congress account to be integrated into the club account and presented, in an audited state, at the AGM.

It is likely that the AGM will be held later in May next year, after the main season has finished and after the auditing of the accounts. Jo Rowley suggested it could be held on a Tuesday rather than interrupt the summer bridge on Thursdays.

Adoption of the Club Accounts for 2017-18 was proposed by John Smithson and seconded by Jo Rowley, and accepted without opposition.

4. Competition Secretary's Report (on file)

Louis reported a straightforward season with exciting conclusions to some of the competitions. He extended thanks to all directors who are growing visibly in confidence. Special thanks were extended to Paul Gipson for all his assistance and ready response to any query.

5. League teams' reports

Garneth reported a successful year for the A team who had finished 5th in their league having won five matches.

Trish reported an enjoyable year for the Bears, who had also finished 5th in their league having won five matches. She extended thanks to all who had played and particularly to Margaret and Kate who have indicated that they wish to step down having played for the team for many years.

Trish expressed concern about declining numbers of players available for playing in the league teams and requested that anybody who would like to play should put their name forward. Without increased numbers she expressed concern about the viability of the club fielding both teams.

6. General Data Protection Regulation

Paul introduced himself as the club's Data Protection Officer. Members have full control over the personal data that they share through their Pianola account. Paul drew attention to the Privacy Policy on the club's website and asked any member with concerns to make contact with him. The club's decision to select Pianola a few years ago has fortuitously made the GDPR easier to comply with.

7. Appointment of Account Examiner

Greaves, West & Ayre were unanimously reappointed.

8. Election of Office Bearers and Committee members

President Christine McCreath

Proposed by Tony Houghton, seconded by Rita McCreath.

Past President Garneth Ellis (unelected)

Hon Secretary Trish Frew

Proposed by Louis Moore, seconded by David King.

Hon Treasurer Jane Smithson

Proposed by Christopher Smith, seconded by C McCreath.

Hon Competition Secretary Louis Moore

Proposed by Paul Gipson, seconded by Ann Ross.

Committee Members (Dorothy Moore and Morven Stone retire by rotation)

Len Hutton

Proposed by Marguerite Robson, seconded by Sandy Moor.

Peter Calder

Proposed by Louis Moore, seconded by Christine McCreath.

The Office Bearers and Committee members were elected without opposition.

9. AOCB

It was requested that the club write to the church expressing concern about the lack of maintenance of outdoor lighting as this had recently contributed to a member falling.

Jane Smithson reported that arrow switches were unpopular and suggested an end to singlewinner competitions. Following discussion a proposal to reject this was made by Brian Thomas and seconded by David King. This rejection was carried by the majority.

There was a discussion about seating positions during club evenings. Currently players can sit where they like, on a first-come, first-served basis, except for Simultaneous Pairs events. Ten years ago positions on most evenings were decided on the toss of a coin, although there was always debate whether this meant you could choose or must sit North-South.

A vote was taken on whether to continue with the current situation, use a coin toss, or select a card (the method used for Simultaneous Pairs). By clear majority, it was decided that players must toss a coin and the winners must sit North-South, although exceptions must be made for those with mobility concerns.

Louis confirmed that half tables can sit North-South or East-West.

Louis, with the Committee, will investigate whether Howell movements are practical as an alternative to arrow switching.

Following the close of the meeting trophies were presented to the prize-winners. This was followed by social bridge.

Presentation of trophies

Trophies for 2017-18 were presented by Garneth Ellis as follows:

Royal Bank of Scotland Cup Ros French & Colin Edney

Anthony Scott Cup Janet Beattie & Ros French, Helen & Paul Gipson

McDonald Cup Penny Davidson & Colin Edney

Tom Woodman Trophy Kitty Home Robertson & Susan Smith,

Ros French & Colin Edney

Wilf White Trophy Penny Davidson & George Martin

Pearson Pot Kate Mole & Sheila Pearson

Martin Trophy Colin Edney & Ian McCreath

Calder Trophy Rita McCreath & Tony Houghton

Grindon Trophy Terry Harris

Lindsay Trophy George Martin

Nessie Dickinson Trophy Brian Thomas & George Martin

George Martin Trophy Colin Edney

Betty Kelly Trophy Tony Houghton